Free NPSIG/CPDWL webinar “Information Literacy in my career” on July 26th


IFLA Continuing Professional Development and Workplace Learning (CPDWL) and IFLA New Professionals Special Interest Group (NPSIG) has partnered with the American Library Association to present a one-hour webinar “Information Literacy in my career.” Professionals at different stages of their career will talk about what information literacy means to them, how they engage with it in their job, and how they see information literacy featuring in their future.

Keynote and moderator:

Sheila Webber (@sheilayoshikawa). Sheila is Senior Lecturer and Director of the Centre for Information Literacy Research in the Information School, University of Sheffield. She is a committee member of IFLA Information Literacy Section, and interim co-chair of UNESCO’s GAPMIL (Global Alliance of partnerships for Media and information Literacy) European Chapter. She blogs at The Information Literacy Weblog.

 

Presenters:

Pamela McKinney (@ischoolpam). Pamela is a Lecturer in the Information School, University of Sheffield. Before joining the iSchool, she was a learning developer in the Centre for Inquiry-based Learning in the Arts and Social Sciences, and prior to that an academic librarian at Sheffield Hallam University

Liam Bullingham (@liamealbee). Liam is a Liaison Librarian at the University of Sheffield. Previous jobs included Information Adviser at Sheffield Hallam University, Knowledge Management Resources Assistant at DLA Piper and Graduate Trainee Library Assistant, Manchester Metropolitan University.

Emily Wheeler (@heliotropia). Emily is Learning Advisor at the University of Leeds. Previous posts include Library Graduate Trainee at Manchester Metropolitan University. She runs the CILIP Yorkshire and Humberside Member Network blog and co-organises the LISDIS (Library and Information Science Dissertations) conference

 

Date: July 26, 2016

Time: 10am Central Standard Time (Chicago, USA) / 11am Eastern Standard Time (NYC, USA) / 4pm British Summer Time (London, UK) / 5pm (Stockholm, Sweden)

Times elsewhere http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/fixedtime.html?iso=20160726T16&p1=136

 

To join the webcast on July 26: Go to http://ala.adobeconnect.com/r4mo47arqqc/ to access the live event.

The webinar will be recorded and the recording will be made available online after the event.

Questions should be directed to mconahan@ala.org.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s